Introduction to the Meaningful Watershed Educational Experience
This course was updated on June 3, 2022. If you took the course before this date, you will need to take the pre-assessment to make the lessons appear again. We also updated how we collect essay responses. Contact Krysta at email@example.com if you want access to essays you summitted prior to June 3.
1,500 certificates and counting!
Welcome to the online course for the Meaningful Watershed Educational Experience (MWEE). We're glad to have you here!
This course is first in a series. At the completion of this course, consider taking MWEE 201 to develop a deeper understanding of the goals, design, and implementation of the MWEE model. If you will be educating others on MWEEs, check out the Facilitator's Guide to MWEE Training to help you plan your training.
This course is made up of three lessons: Why MWEEs?, What Makes a MWEE, and Planning and Evaluating MWEEs. Each of the three lessons are followed by a reflection lesson. You will contribute to a single reflection document throughout the course and upload this document at the completion of the course if you want a Certificate of Completion. Most participants report spending 5-10 hours taking this course.
- Participants will learn the history of the MWEE and it's connections to the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Agreement.
- Participants will identify how students, teachers, and the community could benefit from a MWEE.
- Participants will review evidence for how a MWEE can support a variety of learning outcomes.
- Participants will identify their role in the MWEE Essential Elements and Supporting Practices and how they can incorporate student voice and choice.
- Participants will evaluate a completed MWEE program.
Please send any comments, feedback or questions about this course to Krysta Hougen-Ryall at firstname.lastname@example.org.
After completing all three lessons of this course, you will see a MWEE 101 Completion form appear. Complete this form if you would like to receive your certificate of completion (15 clock hours) and credits for Maryland (1 CPD credit), Pennsylvania (3 Act 48), Delaware, Washington D.C., Virginia, and West Virginia. Depending on your state and local guidelines, you may be able to use the certificate of completion to apply for credits in other states. It may take up to 2 weeks for your coursework to be reviewed and for you to receive your certificate.