2. Introduction of Academy Colleagues

Greetings from Baltimore.

Greetings from Baltimore.

by James Rittner -
Number of replies: 7

Hi everyone. My name is James Rittner. I am a high school physics teacher at Baltimore Polytechnic in Baltimore. As a teacher I am hoping to find effective ways to connect teaching about climate change to physics concepts/topics so that it can provide a highly relevant way to reinforce student learning. As a human being on this planet and a father of two young boys, I'm actively concerned about climate change and its impact on our future. I want to educate myself as much as possible and hopefully find ways to empower our young people to support (or discover!) sensible solutions and interventions.

In reply to James Rittner

Re: Greetings from Baltimore.

by Elise Trelegan -

Welcome James! I’m excited that you‘ll be bringing both your physics perspective AND your parental perspective to this course. Looking forward to getting to know you this summer!

by Pat Harcourt -

Hello James, and welcome! Your message is thoughtful and relevant. I think we should be able to help you identify some great applications for physics topics in the broad field of climate change. Climate change is also a great context for activities related to energy efficiency and renewable energy, and many students are eager to dive into those topics.

I look forward to meeting you in June!

Pat

by Megan Cloutier -

Hi James,