2. Introduction of Academy Colleagues

Hello!

Hello!

by Kayry Segarra -
Number of replies: 6

Hello!

My name is Kayry Segarra and I am a chemistry teacher in Baltimore City Public Schools. My degree is in biochemistry and molecular biology, however, I decided that I should try my hand at teaching and I am about to complete my third year. 

I decided to join the academy because I've always thought education about Climate Change is very important, however, I never felt like I was adequately equipped with enough information to properly teach it. Also, my district is pushing towards integrating Environmental Science in chemistry, biology, and physics, so I would like to educate myself in as much environmental science as possible. I hope that by participating in this program I will feel more comfortable delivering a lesson about climate change, and have resources that I can pull from to help myself and my students through the lessons. 

In reply to Kayry Segarra

Re: Hello!

by Pat Harcourt -

Hello Kayry, and welcome! We have another HS chem teacher in the program, and several HS environmental science teachers, and we encourage you to share questions and ideas during the online component. We will also  provide opportunities for teachers with a common focus to share planning time during the in-person component.

I look forward to meeting you in June!

Pat

by Megan Cloutier -